Looking to get into PCB design.

BCMusic

Joined Oct 11, 2009
Well, I am very new to PCB design and for some reason I can't get my mind off of it... Just the thought excites me. So, my main ambition is to design motherboards and video cards. I am currently getting the feel of using certain software (freeware and purchased.) I have self-taught myself almost everything I know, but I think this one takes the cake.... I am well aware that it's not an overnight process, and I don't care. I just need to know what I have to do, where to go, what to read, etc... etc... I have (more than enough I assume) the following software:

NI Design Suite Power Pro (major setback, but worth it)
PCB123
AVR studio v4

So, as you can see, I'm not just talking nonsense... I am quite serious!

Well, I am all ears (or eyes) and ready!!!

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
Jump in. I did the same thing many years ago. You are reasonably set to get started, although having all the available information about the devices is quite important.

My first layouts were done with a 2x template on paper. after the connections were drawn in, a sheet of acetate was taped over the penciled layout, and I used rubdown transfers for the pads and IC pins. Foil traces were tape and rubdown radiused corners.

Have at it!

BCMusic

Joined Oct 11, 2009
Thanks a lot guys... I appreciate the constructive responses...

Hey beenthere, would you have any idea on how long it usually takes to create mobo's, video cards, sound cards, etc... etc...? Not that it matters to me, I've always wondered these things.

SgtWookie, thanks for that!! Looks great, I'll have a look see...

I think I want my first project to be a replication of either a video card or sound card.. Not a mobo yet... But before I do that, what are the restrictions, if any, on creating an exact (or close to) replica of a board, like patents, design, etc...??