Looking for Scientist Forums

John13

Joined Feb 9, 2011
Hi, I was wondering if anyone knows of a good scientists site with forums, projects and such. I looking for open-minded hands on people, not just textbook learned people. Any recommendations? Thanks (-:

With Love,
John

jpanhalt

Joined Jan 18, 2008
Learned people are open-minded and hands on. Maybe you want to exclude the pseudo-learned?

I've been a scientist since the 3rd grade. There are others here like me as well.

John

John13

Joined Feb 9, 2011
Learned people are open-minded and hands on. Maybe you want to exclude the pseudo-learned?

I've been a scientist since the 3rd grade. There are others here like me as well.

John
Thanks John, I guess 'learned' is not the correct word to describe what I mean.

magnet18

Joined Dec 22, 2010
I think what you'll find what you're looking for here at AAC,
just because someone learned from a textbook doesn't mean they don't have hands on experience
Many of the guys on here are retired and have so much experience that the textbooks they learned from reside in antique shops.
If you're looking for a forum with just people that taught themselves without ever looking in a textbook, good luck. Most people that are really into electronics will turn to a textbook, they are very useful tools, I'm considering getting one myself because I'm too impatient to wait till college to learn the stuff i want to learn :)

(and along the top of the page you will see links, all to the online textbook :))

jpanhalt

Joined Jan 18, 2008
Many of the guys on here are retired and have so much experience that the textbooks they learned from reside in antique shops.
Hey,I don't know about the textbooks (Anyone want to buy an Eggers et al., Physical Chemistry, 1964 textbook?), but sometimes I feel like I belong in an antique shop.

John

John13

Joined Feb 9, 2011