LNA-Large Interference and Effect of Output Impedance

prietess

Joined Nov 30, 2010
Hi everyone....
I am new to RF circuit design, and received my first task to design an LNA.
There is this question asking:
1. What will happen when the LNA receives a large interference signal (equivalent to 1dB compression point)? What is the effect on Noise Figure and S11?

2. What is the effect of changing the output impedance to 200 Ohm(from 50 Ohm initially) on S21 and the voltage gain of LNA?

I have tried to read some books by Razavi and Thomas Lee, but could not find some proper and good explanation.
Please kindly help me.... I am really in need of help to complete the project which will due next week.....
Thank you for your help.

prietess

Joined Nov 30, 2010
Hi! Thanks for your kind reply.

Actually I have all the values.
fo=2GHz.
Reverse Isolation is 40dB, and NF is below 2 dB at 2GHz.
1db Compression point: -3dBm.
IIP3 Point: 9.6dBm.
Power Gain: 10dB.

My friend told me that the biasing changes, but I wonder if there is a better and more complete explanation for it.
Do you probably know?
Thank you for your kind response!

t_n_k

Joined Mar 6, 2009
It's not particularly clear what you need.

If you are undertaking a design there are many examples of LNA design methods on the web. In the end it seems to involve accepting performance trade-offs for the various design goals.

This site might be of help - at least from the overall design perspective.

http://bmf.ece.queensu.ca/mediawiki/index.php/Introduction_to_LNA_Design

or this

http://www.eepublishers.co.za/images/upload/EngineerIt/EL_02_ASingle.pdf

A very general discussion is also available here

www.qsl.net/va3iul/LNA%20design.pdf

Anyway - If you type in a search for "LNA design" and click on Similar on the first hit you'll get a pretty good response.

Any design you undertake will probably require access to microwave simulation software to evaluate the design.

Last edited:

prietess

Joined Nov 30, 2010