LM3914N IC Problems (A/F Ratio Meter)

motown07

Joined Nov 3, 2009
I'm a newbie to electrical projects, but I saw a neat project for building an Air Fuel Ratio Meter. I created the meter benched tested the meter with a 9V battery. Excited that I had completed my project I wired my meter to my cars 12V battery and not all the LEDs (10) light up. At most I get 4 of the 10 and it takes about 10 minutes for the 4 to light up.

The diagram can be seen at
http://www.scirocco.org/tech/misc/afgauge/diagram.jpg

Instead of the R1 = 2.3KΩ resistor and R2 = 3.3KΩ resistor that was called for in the diagram I used 2.2KΩ resistors.

Can anyone help my to try to figure out why my meter works with a 9V battery, but not with the 12V battery in my car?

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Why did you expect to see something other than a set number of LEDs to come on?

In a vehicle with a normally operating narrowband lambda sensor, the sensor's output will continually change from nearly 0v to nearly 1v. It will look like your LEDs are flickering. The ECU will constantly adjust your injector pulsewidth so that close to stochiometric air/fuel ratio will be maintained (about 14.7:1). You really should see any variance under normal condtions. However, operating with wide open throttle may cause your system to go open-loop (no feedback used from the lambda sensor) - and then you may see the LEDs constantly lit or constantly off.

Such a meter would only be useful if you had wideband lambda sensors.

motown07

Joined Nov 3, 2009
This meter was built to adjust the carburetor on my 1970 Chevelle. The meter uses a narrow band sensor. The weird thing is that if I disconnect the 12v source and hook up a 9v battery to the meter inside the car works how it should work and reads at ~ 15.1:1 or 5 to 6 leds. I confirmed this by removing the meter and connecting a digital meter to the O2 sensor and the ground, meter reads about ~ .59V.