LM2907 TACH CIRCUIT .. NEED HELP BADLY

ivan_the_red

Joined Dec 7, 2008
I have been trying for some time now to create a circuit that will read a pulse frequency from my distributor and convert it to a voltage that will change with the engines r.p.m. (like a tachometer). I have done all of the calculations according to the chip makers data sheet but still cant figure out why this circuit wont work correctly. I'm a newbie to electronics and still have alot to learn, but I really need some help at this point. I have attached a schematic along with the calculations for someone to pick apart. Any help surely would make my day...
Thanks

Attachments

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
You probably fried the IC.

That's easy to do in automotive environments. You need to ensure that the IC gets clean, regulated voltage - with no spikes. A single spike will kill the IC.

You just show 12V in. I'll tell you what though, it's a terrible hash of noise that's on that input. If you try to run it from "car voltage" (the vehicles' electrical system) without regulation and protection, you're in for a world of hurt (the chip will get fried, and your circuit won't work.)

Just FYI.

Why don't you give some more detail about how you're supplying voltage to this IC?

ivan_the_red

Joined Dec 7, 2008
The IC is powered directly from the "+" and "-" terminal of the car's battery without any additional circuitry. The frequency input is tapped from a lead that exists on the distributor. Does this circuit and its calculations look o.k. ? , if they do then how can I protect the circuit from the input spikes from the battery, can you help me out with a schematic, because I probably dont know enough to construct one just by an explaination? or do you suggest using a seperate regulated supply from another battery (ie 9v)?.

B.T.W. Thanks for replying, I really do appreciate it.

mik3

Joined Feb 4, 2008