Lipo battery pack and LEDs

Medowin

Joined Jun 23, 2010
Hello!

I am a complete noob to electrical wiring and am looking into a project that involves 30 or so LEDs powered portably. It appears as though most conventional batteries don't have enough "juice" to power them so I was looking into a higher powered LiPo battery pack to power them. The battery pack I am considering is this. However, I am unsure so I have just a few questions:

*Would this battery pack be enough to power 30 LEDs rated at 2.2v / 20ma for several hours?
*How exactly could I hook a battery like this up to an LED circuit? It doesn't appear to have typical exposed positive/negative ends like a normal battery.
*If I have to strip the connector ends to hook up the battery to the LED circuit how will I be able to later recharge the battery pack in a charger?

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks! :)

bertus

Joined Apr 5, 2008
Hello,

I would leave the battery connectors intact and try to get the counter connections for them.
The battery is stated to be 11.1 Volts.
You say you want to connect 2.2 Volts leds.
You can connect 4 leds in series with a current limiting resistor to the battery.
The resistor will have the following value:
(Vsupply - Vleds) / Iwanted = (11.1 - 4X2.2) / 0.02 = 2.3 / 0.02 = 115 Ohms
The nearest E12 value will be 120 Ohms.
You can make 7 strings like that to have 28 leds connected.
The other 2 leds can be connected with a seperate resistor of:
(11.1 - 4.4) /0.02 = 6.7 / 0.02 = 335 Ohms.
The nearest E12 value will be 390 Ohms.

Bertus

Medowin

Joined Jun 23, 2010
Hello,

I would leave the battery connectors intact and try to get the counter connections for them.
The battery is stated to be 11.1 Volts.
You say you want to connect 2.2 Volts leds.
You can connect 4 leds in series with a current limiting resistor to the battery.
The resistor will have the following value:
(Vsupply - Vleds) / Iwanted = (11.1 - 4X2.2) / 0.02 = 2.3 / 0.02 = 115 Ohms