linear actuator circuit design

max588

Joined Aug 26, 2013
Hello all,

Let me first start off saying I am a half newbie with electronic projects so please pardon if i don't use the correct vocabulary.

I have a project in mind that will require a circuit, but i need a little help designing it. It will contain the following:

three limit switches
one linear actuator
one dial
Power source (dc transformer)

OK, so this is how this system would work:

If limit switch A is triggered (linear actuator in home position) and limit switch B is triggered then upon release of limit switch B engage linear actuator. Once the linear actuator is engaged limit switch A will become disengaged, but this should not affect the actuator's travel. Once Limit switch C (linear actuator fully extended) is triggered then the actuator should stop. If at any time limit switch B is triggered during the actuators travel it must stop and reverse direction (back to home position). If limit switch C is triggered and limit switch B is triggered then upon release of limit switch B engage linear actuator in the opposite direction. I would need a dial in place to be able to set an amperage use ceiling for the actuator, this is intended to detect if the linear actuator is jammed. If a jam is detected the actuator should stop and switch its current direction, until either limit switch A or C is triggered.

The whole system will be moving no more the 50lbs back and forth. If anybody has any suggestions on the design of this circuit and recommendations for components that can handle a bunch of cycles I would greatly appreciate it! I really cant wait to build it! :D

Thanks

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
Your switching sequence does not seem to make a lot of sense, Is the actuator itself tripping the limits or is there other mechanism involved?
And presumably this has a DC motor on the actuator?
Max.

max588

Joined Aug 26, 2013
Max,