Lightbulbs in series

McZlik

Joined Jun 9, 2012
Hey all,

As can be seen in the picture that I attached, I'm designing a circuit.
I now the basic stuff for this, but now I need some help to go further.

I need to connect 13 little low voltage light bulbs next to each other, each with an own switch to turn it on/off and 1 master switch to turn the whole thing off.

Now I want to know if what I draw is correct, or that I need some changes.
Details: the bulbs are 3.5V at 0.2A, with an E10 fitting.
Like this one.
The will have multiple colors, but I don't think it maters for these lights.

I'm wondering how I can calculate the source voltage I need, and if I need to add resistors to the circuit. (I think I do, but I have no idea)

To note out: I'm pretty new to electronics, and I really want to learn. Sow I'm asking not only for the solution, but also the way to get there :)

Thanks in advance!

Greetz,

McZlik

Attachments

Last edited:

hexreader

Joined Apr 16, 2011
You will need to reduce the 24 Volts from the power supply to 3.5V somehow, otherwise the lamps will burn out almost instantly.

You COULD put a 100 Ohm 4 Watt resistor in series with each lamp IF you power supply can supply enough extra current (2.6 Amps), which I doubt. You then have 47 Watts of waste heat to get rid of.

I think it might be more practical to build a separate 3.3 Volt power to power your lamps, or change to 24 Volt lamps.

As for calculating the source voltage that you need, that is easy. 3.5V lamps require a 3.5V power supply. 3.3V supplies are more common and this is close enough.

Last edited:

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010