Light Detecting Auto LED Lighting... (RC Truck)

NFA Fabrication

Joined Aug 12, 2012
OK, I am trying to make automated lighting for an RC truck. I have figure out a basic design that I like and have it tested, but it still has one glitch. I built and tested this light detecting circuit, added a 555 timer circuit to keep the LED's on for a while after triggered (So they would not flicker). I then drew it out after I had it tested, and liked it:

I am new to 555's, and thought that with each trigger, the 555's timer would "Start over". I have figure out how to manipulate the 555 "On time", but if I set if for 30 sec's or so, I don;t want to have the lights glitching on/off every 30 secs as the timer resets, as the LDR circuit will have slightly varying input as it gradually gets dark.

I would basically like to have the timer on the 555 reset everytime the LDR circuit goes low, instead of just taking input at the end of the cycle. I hope that makes sense! Thanks!

Here is the truck (The front one):

If this can't be done, I am considering using the light detecting circuit to charge a large capacitor that drives a transistor that will run the LED's. I like the elegance of the 555 timer idea if it can be accomplished. I had something like this working, but did not like how the LED's dimmed at the end of the triggering cycles, it appeared half ass'd to me. Thanks for any assistance!

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
I suppose you could add another 555, or use a 556. You could use the existing circuit for, say, a 5 second pulse and the second timer for a 30 second pulse. This way, a low-light detection within a 5 second window before the end of the 30-second cycle would ensure that the trigger was there and waiting to reset another 30 second cycle without a visible delay.

Does your current circuit work fine once it's dark enough?

BMorse

Joined Sep 26, 2009