LED Tile Wall (Micro Controller Help)

acefire

Joined Aug 21, 2010
Hi i have posted in The Projects Forum but i thought it may reach people quicker if i posted a small amount in here about the MC side of the system.

Here is the basic rundown so far
Hi there, i am a beginner when it comes to electrical circuits but i am a motor vehicle engineer so i do understand how to diagnose problems and understand V=IR to some extent.
What i am pondering to make is a wall of Acrylic frosted glass with a Tri-Colour LED behind each tile and also a white LED behind every tile also. I am thinking it will be around 42 of Each type of LED as it should be around 42 tiles (Around 20 CM2 each) I am looking to get the tiles connected to a pc so they can be controlled by a program hopefuly Visual Basic as i understand VB but if not i will have to learn the other languages. I want it so any individual LED can be turned on and off so the wall can be whatever design is chosen through the program. I have looked into Arduino boards but i do not know if these wold have enough pins for me to make this possible.

I am looking into High power white LED's and 5mm or 10 mm Tri Colour LED's also that would be bright enough to light up the 20cm square.

I would appreciate if someone could give me an idea of what i would need to make this possible and any educated guess at a price range for it all (ignoring tiles ect, only electrics) Also things like if i would need a resistor seperate for every LED or a way to do it so they can all run from a smaller amount.
What i dont really know is what type of ucontroller to use i have looked into Picaxe and i think it may be possible but do not know the right one to go for or if i have to just get a chip or if i can use the experimental ucontrollers on the website.

Thank you.

debjit625

Joined Apr 17, 2010
In simple way I would do it using multiplexing you need a microntroller of just 14 output pins i.e.. 8*6 = 48 and thats more than 42.

Good Luck

acefire