LED questions

Kane

Joined Aug 5, 2010
I am very new to building any type of circuit beyond putting batteries in a flashlight. Before bugging y'all with my question, I searched this as well as other forums and did not find an answer.

I want to build a few big aquarium lights similar to the grow lights one sees on ebay. The first thing I did was buy some LED's off ebay, clean some old PCB's from computers (hard to find the long skinny ones new so I cut my own) and place two rows of 30 LED's all connected to 2 leads (all the positive on one lead the negative on the other) Then I connected it to an of the shelf 3.5v transformer from a cordless phone. It worked fine.

Then I started looking on forums for how to do a much bigger light and read how one cant do what I did without resistors and this or that other component and now I'm all confused.

I want to build three lights each using 100 white 5mm 3.5v LED's and 50 of the same in blue and 50 in red 1.5v LED's. The three colors will have their own on/off switch.

Real simple, nothing proprietary. Just dont see why I should spend over $500 each for something I can make for less than $50 each. I already have the housings. Can someone explain the HOW (using simple idiot terms) or even give me a basic diagram?

Kane

Joined Aug 5, 2010
Wow! That was fast. That wizard is simply perfect. One question though.... How could I use a computer power source (ATX or AT)? What would I use to regulate the needed current? Or more accurately, what current do I need to input for the three different lighting strips? One has 100 3.5v LED's, one has 50 3.5v and the third has 50 1.5v LED's.

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
The concepts are explained here.

LEDs, 555s, Flashers, and Light Chasers

Wizards have some major problems, notably in the area of common sense. As the voltage drops of the LEDs (Vf) get close to the power supply voltage they tend to blindly give answers that are pure nonsense.