LED question.

tee2

Joined Nov 19, 2004
Hi All

Here is what I need to do.

I have three LED's one white, one green, and one red. (each LED will be made up of an array of four ultrabright LEDs)

At the start the white LED will be on, then with switch1 the green LED will come on, then on switch1 again the red LED will light. Only one LED at a time. Switch2 will reset back to white to restart the game again.

The cycle can be...
white, green, reset
white, green ,red, green, red, green, red, reset
the green, red cycle can be up to 20 times before a reset.

I have been playing with a 4017 and a 555 time for a debounce on the switch1. As you can see I'm a newbie :confused: at this and the problem is with the reset back to white.

Any ideas on how to do this?

Also can a 4017 handle the current for 4 LEDs at 3.3v at 30 ma each?

Thanks, TT

DickCappels

Joined Aug 21, 2008
First the easy one: " Also can a 4017 handle the current for 4 LEDs at 3.3v at 30 ma each?"

No. You would need to add some kind of buffer. I suggest a grounded emitter transistor such as a 2N2222 with a 1k base resistor. The cathode of the LED array connects to the collector of the transistor. The anode of the LED array connects to a current limiting resistor. The other end of the current limiting resistor connects to a positive power supply. That is one of many approaches to buffering, and one of the most foolproof.

If I understand your description of what you want to do, then a set of latches with reset comes to mind, rather than a sequencer like the CD4017. Especially since you don't want a fixed sequence. I am sure you will see as many different ways to do this as there are people interested in helping. Please see below, which is based on the 74HC74.

This just a quick sketch of the idea, not a completed design. For example, you would have to deal with the unused inputs of the 7474, etc. No guarantees - just an idea.

tee2

Joined Nov 19, 2004