LED music with programming?

bobocheez

Joined Aug 27, 2011
Hi,
I'm really amused by bright things and saw some videos on YouTube where someone set up LEDs that pulsed to music.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OtIfh2llMQc

I'm a really big noob when it comes to circuitry, and very uncertain about what to do, so I was hoping some experts here could point me in the right direction.

What I would like is to have multicolored LEDs that respond to music that can be programmed with a computer.
Something like this: http://www.sparkfun.com/tutorials/44
However, instead of a multidimensional array like the tutorial, I would prefer a single strip of LEDs like in the video.

Making the controller is probably out of my reach, I'll probably just buy one if you have any recommendations.

If you think I'm way over my head with this then I'll stick with the video tutorial. However, is there a way to amplify the amount of power going to the LEDs? In the video he uses 24 LEDs, but you can get 100 of them for $3 online. From what I've read so far, the more of them there are the dimmer they will be, so I guess some sort of amplifier is needed.

You're input would be greatly appreciated.

iONic

Joined Nov 16, 2007
However, is there a way to amplify the amount of power going to the LEDs? In the video he uses 24 LEDs, but you can get 100 of them for $3 online.

From what I've read so far, the more of them there are the dimmer they will be, so I guess some sort of amplifier is needed.

You're input would be greatly appreciated.
More power....why? Because you want to add more LED's, thus presumably reducing the brightness. If AudioGuru could step in here he might be able to help regarding the video setup. I think that by increasing the volume on your stereo you would get more power. I'm not sure of this.