Led lighting

reddogracing

Joined Apr 1, 2010
NOOB here.

I am trying to redo my diy aquarium lighting.

Currently I use 4x100 white led xmas lights. And they light great. Problem is, they are multi "8" function lights, I have them on timers, and when they come on, they default to one of the flashing functions, and I have to go at change them to "always on". Each string of 100 has its own box, so i have 4 of these little control boxes. They are smaller then a pack of cigs. 3 bulbs in each string of 25 has a rsitor one the neg side. And they are the 3 bulbs closest to the box, or closest to the neg side. 12 bulb in all has resistors.

So i want to rework the whole setup. I am a mechanic and pretty good with diy, just no led experience. What i WANT to do is cut out the multi function part of the lights, and cut back to just one box or power supply if i can.

So each box has 110 input, 2 wires, and 5 wire output, 1 +, and 4 -, each - wire controls 25 bulbs, and the one + wire runs to the end of each of the strings of 25. I am measuring 109 volts dc as output, but i have a pretty cheap meter.

Can i scrap the boxes and power them with one transformer, or use maybe one of the boxes i have to power all? And how can I bypass the multi function part of the little boxes if i did use them?

All ideas are welcome,

lightbox.jpg

Photo0485.jpg

Photo0484.jpg

curious if i take 400-600 of these lights and make one big panel,,,

What would be a good power sourse to use?

How should i wire the lights?

like they are now, but do 24 strings of 25 lights, or something differant.

I want to keep it as simplle as i can and use the xmas lights i have to do it. I also have several others wanting me to make them lights as well.

reddogracing

Joined Apr 1, 2010
FYI in my little diagragm, i only have 7 bulbs per string showing. That was just for space, there are 25 bulbs per, 22 w/o resistor, 3 with.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007