LED lamps getting hot

MingJae

Joined Feb 19, 2010
hi, i'm a newbie just asking a simple question and maybe someone will help me to solve this problem :)

case:
1.orange/red/green 3mm LED getting hot while connected to 3v DC battery
2.orange/red/green (3-20 pieces) + white LED 3mm = white led get dim...
3.I need a scheme of orange+red+green+white LED with only 2x1.5v batteries

questions:
1.how many resistor (Ω)should I use to optimize the lights of orange,red,and green LED?(I already use the transistor calculator but have no idea..)

2.can I make all the LED turn on with one switch?(one button to turn ON all LED)with scheme pic pls?

sorry if my english is not correct and thx b4 :D

Audioguru

Joined Dec 20, 2007
Ohm's Law is used to calculate the value of a current-limiting resistor for an LED. It is based on the voltage dropped across the resistor that determines its current and the current of the LED in series with it.

You need to know the actual voltage of your battery (it is 3.2V when brand new and might be 2.4V when used a little plus you need to know the actual voltage of your LED (not its maximum voltage). The red LED might be 1.8V, the green LED might be 2.2V and the white LED might be 3.3V. You also need to know the typical current of your LEDs which might be 20mA.

For example:
1) The battery is 3.0V, the red LED is 1.8V and its typical current is 20mA.
2) 3.0V - 1.8V= 1.2V. The resistor value is 1.2V/20mA= 60 ohms which is not a standard resistance value. Use 56 ohms or 62 ohms.
3) But the battery might be new at 3.2V and the LED might actually be 1.7V so its current with a 56 ohm resistor is 26.8mA which will be OK.

If the white LED is 3.3V then it will be extremely dim with a 3.0V battery.

You must select a battery that is big enough to last as long as you want with all your LEDs lighted.

MingJae

Joined Feb 19, 2010