LED Help

Lightfire

Joined Oct 5, 2010
Hello folks,

This is my first project which compose only of Light-emitting diode.
Now, I want to ask if what resistor should I use for this project.

Now, refer to the schematic image I attached.

As you may see, every groups were connected in series (as somebody recommended) and all groups were connection in parallel.

As you may see again, every group has a different numbers of Light-emitting diode. The first group has a 9 Light-emitting diode connected in series, the second group has a 13 Light-emitting diode connected in series, the third group has an eighteen Light-emitting diodes connected in series, the fourth group has a 19 Light-emitting diode connected in series, the fifth group has a 13 Light-emitting diode connected in series, the last group has a nice Light-emitting diode connected in series.

For the battery, the battery that I will use is rated as 12 volts, 12 amperes-hour.

Please folks, help me.
Any answers and help will be greatly appreciated.

Your folk mate,
Lightfire

Attachments

Last edited:

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
Did you read the link I gave? It covers LEDs in detail.

Each diode drops so much volts, this is called Vf. The total dropping voltage of each diode adds up. Red LEDs can be 2.0Vf to 2.5Vf. The answer I gave you here covered how to measure real Vf, and should give you clues how to use LEDs.

So three LEDs in series (if they were 2.5Vf) would add up to 7.5Vf, and a 9V battery powering these 3 LEDs would have 1.5V left over.

LEDs are current devices, so you must select a resistor that will take that 1.5V and only allow 10ma (0.01A) through.

Remember Ohm's Law?

1.5V / 0.01A = 150Ω

If you go to the next illustration in my LEDs, 555s, Flashers, and Light Chasers, you will see this illustration (the first on I showed you also came from this link).

In this illustration, I used 20ma.