Led Grow Light

TomatoMan

Joined Oct 16, 2011
Hello the question I would like to ask is about wiring and powering a grow light. The light I am building will be made up of 3watt high power leds. I will be surface mounting these to a sheet of aluminum. I searched the other grow light post here but did not find one that would answr my questions. I will be using 50 red 2.6-3 volts, 10 blue 3.6-4 volts, 5 cool white 3.4-3.6 volts, and 5 warm white 3.4-3.6 volts. I am a total noob about Leds and would like to know the best way to wire them. Should I keep all teh red in one series and blue in its own ect? Also what should I use for a power supply for this light? Thanks for any help you people can give.

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
The subject has come up quite a few times here on AAC. I have helped with several projects, but no two are quite the same.

Since you are dealing with power LEDs you MUST mount them to a heat sink, a chunk of aluminum to soak the heat generated by the LEDs away. This is critical.

The second thing you need to work on is to find a power supply that will drive all those LEDs. You can use a 12V power supply, I believe a 24V is better. It needs to be very beefy. You quote 50 red LEDs, that means it is going to have to be larger than usual, that or you're going to need multiple power supplies. You will likely need around 250-300W of power. Power is volts X amps.

After you have a power supply picked out I can help you design something to drive the LEDs. You will likely have to build some electronics, there really isn't a way around this, but it will be relatively simple. You will also need a DVM.