LED Flashing w/audio

randname

Joined Nov 14, 2008
First off, I'm new to everything, so forgive me for not being very specific.

I'm trying to set up an audio system with a ton of LEDs that flash with the music. I tried running the LED's in a series connected to my stereo but the volume needs to be way loud and I can't have as many LEDs.

What I want to do now is create a near stand alone device that will flash the LEDs with the music, but is connected to its own power source, that way I can use all of the LEDs that I want.

Is there any way that I can run the speaker wire into a device that that will not stop the music but will be able to detect voltage changes and open another switch to the LEDs?

If not then does anyone have any other ideas?

mik3

Joined Feb 4, 2008
You want just to turn on all the leds with the bass beat or turn on some leds each time depending on the sound volume?

mik3

Joined Feb 4, 2008
Take a comparator IC (op-amp specialized to work as comparator) and connect its inverting input to a potentiometer. Also, connect one output of the stereo to a half way rectifier with a resistor in parallel with a capacitor on its output. Then connect the output of the rectifier to the non-inverting input of the comparator. Finally, use a power transistor on the output of the comparator to drive your leds (the power of the transistor depends on the number of leds).

Note: the output voltage which drives the speaker may be high for the comparator and it will destroy it. I suggest you to use a voltage divider after the output of the rectifier to reduce the voltage down to safe levels and a zener diode on the non-inverting input of the comparator to protect it.

Also, with the potentiometer you will be able to adjust the flashing depending on the volume of the stereo system.

Dellash04

Joined Dec 2, 2008