Led Clock/Calendar with a 16F84

marcosj

Joined Apr 23, 2008
Hi, I'm Marcos Leguizamon, from Argentina, and I'm 30 and a self taught programmer since I was 12, and recently I entered in the electronic world, in the same way.

The last year, to do my first proyect, I choose to make a Clock build with leds (look at the picture atached) commanded by a 16F84. It shows the time of the day, day of the week (in spanish DO, lu , ma, mi ,ju , vi, sa) and day of the month (I found it useless to show the year, and also I was sick of soldering leds)

I made all the design, from the firmware (assembler), to the electronic circuit, the fonts (it uses 5x7 digits, fully controlled, not 7 segments-like) and the wooden box to hold it (this last one was really hard!!)

The thing is, now I want to release something made by me in the net, with source code , schematics, instructions,... and this is by far the best thing I made, It's hang in the kitchen since more than a year and working perfectry, and it's usefull. (I also made some comercial firmware, but that's out of the question)

Until here everything is allright, but, this are my questions:
Does anybody want to solder (4+2)*(5*7)+2*(6*5)+3=237 leds, and also made 474 holes in a PCB to hold them?
Do you thing it's usefull or are there proyects like this in the net, better done?
It's aceptable to power it from a 9V DC, or should it be 220V/110V AC? Don't ever think about batterys
Can I publish just the electronic thing, and left the wood stuff out of the proyect? Would anybody hang a PCB in the wall without a box?

Sorry for the size of the mail, and of course, for my bad English.

MARCOS

Attachments

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
Nice project, Marcosj. It's pretty impressive to get all that stuff working. You could certainly post it in out Projects Collection, if you like.

Questions: