Learning PNP transistor

geologie

Joined Mar 25, 2009
Hi. I'm a physic teacher that have fun learning electronic in order to make some projects with kids. I bought Dave cutcher's "electronics cricuits for evil genius".

When learning transistor, i have not problem with NPN theory and practice but with PNP, i understand the theory but the practice isn't working: if i breadboard the "lesson 10", it simply didn't work!

Here it is :

It doesn't work! voltage on collector is 1 volt when the switch is not push and it is suppose to lit on the led on power ON and power slowly off the led when pushing the switch. Even removing R1, R2 and C1 and the switch, the transistor is suppose to lit on the LED. The theory said that PNP transistor is an open valve until some pressure is on the base of the transistor (opposite of 2N3904 that on power on the LED is off and need voltage on the base to on the LED). I have sevral 3906 and they all do the same.

What is my mistake - or perhaps it is the book?

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
Connecting the Base to Emitter will turn either flavor off, be it NPN or PNP.

With the switch open current flows through R1 and R2, which will turn the transistor on, unless the resistors are too large, in which case it only turns on partly.

The 1V you see on the collector is when the transistor is on, most of the voltage is actually being dropped across the diode D1 (0.6-0.7V), the rest is across the transistor (0.2-0.3V), which is normal.

When you push the switch the cap charges almost instantly, and the transistor turns off as fast.

When you release the switch the capacitor slowly releases its charge (almost like a battery) and the transistor will slowly turn on.

With no resistors R1 and R2, the transistor will be off, it needs current to turn on.

geologie

Joined Mar 25, 2009