Laserjet direct PCB printing ideas

Chris11jed

Joined Dec 15, 2013
Hello all,

Just wanted to see if anyone has ever hacked a laserjet printer so that one could pass a copper clad board into a laserjet and have the printer directly print the circuit design onto the copper clad board?

At present I have some hit and miss experience with "blue sheet" press 'n' peel method DIY PCB manufacture. I print my designs onto this blue sheet, then with a hot iron transfer the design onto the copper clad board. Then use an etching solution (Ammonium Persulphate and warm water) to finish the job. As I've stated, it is a hit and miss thing. I do double sided designs. The miss comes into play when parts of the transfer haven't transferred. Lining up vias and through-hole holes I can do well enough.

So with this in mind I'd rather just feed the copper clad board into a hacked laserjet and have it print directly onto the board. Searching the internet has been like searching for evidence of UFOs. There's a little 'good' stuff out there, a lot of claims to fame and all the rest is B.S.

I use a HP laserjet 1102W printer and would love it if anyone has any ideas about taking it apart, re-constructing it into a working model. The idea i have is having a tray one would place a square copper clad board onto, so that once one side is done all that would have to be done is flip in over and the under-side could then be done with some degree of accuracy.

So there you go. Any thoughts.....
Thanks
Chris

sirch2

Joined Jan 21, 2013
I believe that Laser Printers use a static charge on the paper to hold the toner before fusing. This may not work on a conductive material such as copper. just saw Bertus's post and obviously it does work...

We recently discussed toner transfer in this thread - http://forum.allaboutcircuits.com/showthread.php?t=95562