Laser Maze - Start/Stop Circuit

CoachKalk

Joined Sep 20, 2011
Happy Father's Day to all the Dad's on the forum today.

First, let me just say how grateful I am for this site and the incredible help it is - I am a complete beginner and everyone has been very patient while offering much needed help.

In my continued mission for a play at home laser maze, I am now working on the laser control portion. Thank to elec mech, my display issues have been resolved.

After much thought about how to contol the lasers, I have been considering a shift in design. I really wanted a way to control the lasers individually and I think a controller like an arduino may in fact be a great option.

So, I have a few questions about this simplified laser circuit. If it passes your scrutiny, the end result would have up to 12 of the same set-up.

Number 1
Even though an arduino has 40mA per I/O pin, I had read that the I/O pins really shouldn't be used to drive external components. I had already ordered a 5V - 4A power supply back when the arduino was unknown to me, so I plan on just using that.

But, you will see I am using 2N3907 transistors which will be controlled by the arduino. I am trying desperately to learn from all of the help provided so I would like explain where I came up with my numbers and see if you agree.

The collector will have 5V from the Laser Power Supply. The laser runs/draws? approx. 25mA. The voltage drop across the 3907 is 0.7V. The base will have 5V from the arduino.

Based on previous help, I need 1/10th of the 25mA to the base.
So ... (5.0 - 0.7)/2.5mA = 2K base resisitor. Is that even close?

When Pin 22 goes HIGH, will the lasers light? Pin 22 LOW = Off? Will the transistor "protect" the arduino from any excess current issues, if that is a potential problem?

Number 2