Laptop power supply.

kiyoukan

Joined Nov 17, 2009
I have have a dell inspiron 1150 and over the many many years of owning it i had a problem of the barrel jack coming of the board.
It seemed at least once a year i had to take it apart on solder it back on.
Well today it would not take. I think that part of the board is now dead. i could try the whole take the green film of and make the contacts larger but i want to find a permanent solution.
What i want to do is to hard wire the connector into the battery terminal.
The battery is a Li-ion batter 14.8v at 6450mAH with a 96WH capacity.
And the Power supply brick is19.5V at 4.62A
I have never done anything like this before and wanted some advice.
I would like to have the battery in there still so i can still use it as a portable computer but if it will interfere with it i dont mind not having it.
I was thinking i would have to drop the V down maybe using a voltage divider circuit or something but i decided it might be better to get people with more knowledge before i risk my laptop.
Thanks so much for any help or advice.

tom66

Joined May 9, 2009
Do NOT do this. The laptop has a charging circuit to prevent damaging the battery. Every cell has to be individually charged. Failure of the battery, often catastrophic (i.e. fire, explosion, smoke, damage to laptop/battery/surroundings), will result, if you overcharge even a single cell.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QJCZ4ayioCU

kiyoukan

Joined Nov 17, 2009
Yes i figured that would be a problem that is why i stated i do not care if i dont have a battery that works i just need it to work.
So if i scrap the battery and want to use the psu in its place how might one go about doing that?
So to make things clear i dont want to charge the battery i just want a place to connect the leads of my psu so this thing will work.

tom66

Joined May 9, 2009