Language help

tresguey

Joined Apr 22, 2013
I am new to programming and a extreme novice in electronics. I first purchased a microchip PICkit 3 debug express. I had problems with the program lessons with this kit. Others recommended the Gooligum kit. I purchased that and can go through the lessons but am baffled with what I am actually doing. I don't understand what movlw actually does. I read it move a literal to register W. but what is register W? Is there are there other regiters like A,B and C? And what is a literal?

Is there a book or website that will help a novice like myself understand what I am actually doing?

LDC3

Joined Apr 27, 2013
A literal is the same as a constant. It is a number that you want to use in a calculation. If you want to know how many weeks there are in 54 days, you would divide by the constant, 7. "movlw" is followed by the constant, so the instruction should be "movlw 7". In this case, the register W is a reference to one of the general purpose registers.

This web site might help.
This page is for the instructions of the PIC.

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
The PICkit 3 debug express is an excellent starting place: you have a known and tested development board and programmer (which also serves an a debugger). Plus a set of tutorials to get you running.

The "gotcha" is the compilers are always changing (for the better really) but some of the details in how to use them change very fast, meaning parts of the tutorials, those important step-by-step instruction how to build the code simply do not work any more.

No worry... you can ask here or the Microchip forums and everyone will be happy to help.

"W" is a special register in the PIC. Many computers have at least one register where the work is done. Most of the 32 instructions on the baseline devices deal with W in one way or another, loading it, storing it, adding, subtracting, or shifting the value stored in W.