kWh

kbwelch17

Joined Sep 14, 2013
Hi all:

I am just starting Circuit Theory and am taking Physics 2 concurrently. As such, I am new to many of the subjects and terminology used in the book I am using and am finding reading it quite a challenge (For those interested, it is The Analysis & Design of Linear Circuits by Thomas/Rosa/Toussaint). Anyway I am having trouble figured out a particular problem on our first problem set:

1-14: An incandescent lamp absorbs 100 W when connected to a 120-V source. An energy-efficient compact fluorescent lamp (CFL) producing the same amount of light absorbs 16 W when connected to the same source. How much cheaper is it to operate the CFL versus the incandescent bulb over 1,000 hours when electricity costs 7.8 cents/kWh?

My main issue here I suppose is the concept of kWh. Is this kilowatts absorbed per hour? If that is the case, why does the voltage of the source matter? I am sure I will visit this page often throughout the semester!

Thanks.

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
I think you've put yourself at a disadvantage by not taking Physic 2 first. It is almost always a prereq for a Circuits I course and with good reason.

The unit of the "watt" is power -- how much energy is absorbed, produced, transferred, processed, or whatever, per unit time. In SI units it is 1W=1J/s=1Nm/s

A kWh is (1kW)*(1hour). So if W is energy/time, the kWh is (energy/time)(time)=energy.

Specifically, (1000J/s)(3600s) = 3.6MJ.

The phrase "kilowatts absorbed per hour" is meaningless. Think of something comparable, like if there were a unit of mph-s (mile-per-hour-second). The mph is a rate (distance/time). If you multiply how fast you are going by a length of time, you just get a distance (in this case about 1.5ft). It would make no sense to speak of this as somehow being the speed gone per second.

As for the voltage -- why do you think it matters?

kbwelch17

Joined Sep 14, 2013