Keeping red under control with an RGB setup

littlenemo

Joined Mar 17, 2009
Disclaimer: I'm a noob. I've been making lightsabers as a hobby for a couple of years, and have learned enough quick-and-dirty electrical knowledge to allow me to, well, make lightsabers. Still, I do try to pry more knowledge into my tiny brain in order to make cooler lightsabers. I've made three lightsabers that use LedEngin's 10-Watt RGBA and RGGB LEDs, and which allow you to change the color of the blade by mixing and matching the different colors. (Here's my latest, and here's a video of it.) The attached ultra-simplified (?) diagram shows how I do this.

Yes, I do know enough to put the appropriate resistor on each color, though I left them out of this diagram.

The problem is, any time red or amber are on, they suck current (if I'm not mistaken) from green and/or blue, so while the setup in the diagram should provide 15 more or less distinct colors, red and amber tend to dominate, and I end up with an inordinate number of pinkish or orangeish shades that are barely distinguishable from each other. I have gotten vague advice to the effect that I should be able to solve this problem "with a diode." I may not know much, but I know enough to know that there are all kinds of diodes (including LEDs).

Scouring the Internet for info, I found references to "serial resistors," but what I found has not helped me so far.

So here I am. Without using PWM via a microcontroller, such as Pic or Arduino, how can I keep red and amber under control and get nice color mixes?

Many thanks in advance for any help you can offer!

marshallf3

Joined Jul 26, 2010
Red and Amber LEDs require less voltage to run than green or blue; they also tend to be more efficient given the same power. You just need to adjust your resistor values such that the brighness is evened out.

littlenemo

Joined Mar 17, 2009
Thanks for the prompt response, marshall.