isolation & level shift

wmgehl

Joined Jul 21, 2009
Hello.
I am new to analog design and need to monitor a 1-10V signal using the ADC in a microcontroller. So I need to level shift the 1-10V down to 0 - 5V and I have a dual op-amp circuit I intend to breadboard to accomplish this.

I gather that using an op-amp circuit should impedance match better into the ADC input (2.5Kohm max)as well as provide serious isolation (high z) between the line and the MCU. To protect this circuitry further from signal line overvoltage and misuse I assume that a 12V zener on the op-amp input would help.

However, given my very limited design experience, there may well be a better way. So I would appreciate any comments and or suggestions anyone has on my thoughts. Any suggestions on the best op-amp (or op-amp circuitry) to use for this application, etc?

Thanks in advance.

nanovate

Joined May 7, 2007
Can you post a schematic of your proposed input circuit?

Are the opamps rail-rail input (if single-supplied) or are you using a dual power-supply?

Often a Schottky diode from the input to the VCC on the ADC works very well for clamping over voltages.

As far as isolation goes... you likely have a resistive path from the opamp inputs to the ADC input so it is not "serious" but it is much better than a direct connection.

wmgehl

Joined Jul 21, 2009
Thanks for your reply Nanovate.

I'm at the block diagram level so no digitized schematic just yet - my CAD lady is on the BD right now. I will post schematic asap and, yes, I was intending to source single supply rail to rail op-amps (12V supply). Thanks for the Schottky to Vcc tip.

That said....if I may be so bold as to shift the topic a little and impose on you further....the isolation is a larger issue than I thought originally and management wants "real" isolation (not just serious)...so it appears that an opto-coupler is the way to go.