Is this good enough? (heatsink)

davidGG

Joined Dec 22, 2012
Hi, I want to use my AC wall transformer (120v -> 21V), 'plugged into' a rectifier (21V -> 19V) into a LM317T power regulator (19V -> 5V) to power a microcontroller.

Will a heat sinks like so suffice for prolonged use?
http://www.ebay.com/itm/400275309095

Average current will be 100mA to maybe .900, won't exceed 1A ever.
Power dissipation ~ (19-5)V*500mA = 7W (this is where i'm becoming doubtful of a small heat sink being able to dissipate 7W)
Rectifier is rated at 400V, 1.5A
Regulator rated at 40V, 1.5A
Transformer rated at 240VAC, 10A (not 100% sure about the amp rating but I remember it was in the teen area).

Also, this may seem stupid, but I am just getting into digital logic, but...
a) can integrated circuits (NAND,AND,NOR,.. gates) be powered with AC?
b) what is the voltage drop on these integrated circuits? can't find any information on the datasheets.

and, any good guides on how to connect to the internet using a microcontroller? Atmega32a is what I am using.

Thanks, I appreciate the help.

spinnaker

Joined Oct 29, 2009
It should be fine but my suggestion is that you try to find a 9V DC walwart. They are cheap. You would be dropping much less voltage across your LM317. Plus you don't need the rectifier.

spinnaker

Joined Oct 29, 2009
No digital gates cannot be powered with AC. How would that work? It does not even make sense.

Voltage drop for digital ICs would be found in the datasheet but it is not worth worrying about since it would rarely factor into the design for any hobbyist.

My suggestion is before you do anything you review the lessons at the top of this forum.

poopscoop

Joined Dec 12, 2012
Why not just use a cell phone charger?

Most chargers are SMPS rated for 120v 60hz to 5v DC at anywhere from 500ma to 1A. I have two sitting right here, one of which is an 850ma and one of which (HTC) that is 1A.