Is there such a thing?

Cold Turkey

Joined Sep 15, 2009
G'day everyone, Firstly please excuse my ignorance. I'm not very good with electronics but I am learning.... slowly.

I am trying to take an air conditioning control unit from a modern car and use it to control the air conditioner compressor on an old custom truck I'm building. I have managed to use wiring diagrams to figure out all but one thing.

The Problem: The old a/c control unit had an on/off push button switch, if you pressed it, it stayed depressed / on until you pressed it again (sorry, I can't remember the proper name for that type of switch.) The new a/c control unit has a momentary switch, when you press it, it makes a circuit.

I need a circuit (as simple as possible) or a relay, that will close when the momentary switch is pushed and stay closed until it is pushed again. The added problem is that it needs to remain in its given state even if the power is cut. I don't want to have to press the a/c button every time I start the car :)

Is there any such relay or an easy solution to this problem?

Cheers for any and all help. The car is 12v by the way.

Chris15

Joined Apr 15, 2009
hi
your problem here is if you use a relay and turn the car off it will flick back, if i understand correctly you want to have the AC constantly on when you put the key in and turn it? if so you need to connect the AC unit or whatever it is you want to power and connect it to the ignition power with the key on, using a test lamp is useful, so that when the car is running the unit is on and when car is off ac is off, and you could connect it to the cars AC switch so you can figure out the momentary thing.
Hope it helped,

Last edited by a moderator:

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008