Is it possible to use SMD components on a home made pcb?

electron_prince

Joined Sep 19, 2012
is it possible to develop a printed circuit board by toner transfer method to use with SMD components? I have little to no knowledge on these stuffs. All i know is how to etch a board. These days i am trying to learn 'Eagle'. and I want to design my first pcb layout with SMD components.

Last edited:

electron_prince

Joined Sep 19, 2012
Hi.

Yes you can. This is one of my boards. It's designed in Eagle. :)

wow, it's looking great. I am currently reading an article on "how to solder SMD components on board" and that tutorial started with "Making your own solder paste stencils". and that sounds really, really intimidating. Is soldering an SMD components on board difficult?

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Not at all. I stick to 0805 resistors and capacitors and SOIC ICs when available, as shown in nerdegutta's photo.

Last edited:

Markd77

Joined Sep 7, 2009
No need to use a solder paste stencil, or even solder paste. It can be done easily enough with fairly fine solder and a soldering iron with a small tip.
I now use solder paste applied to the pads with a toothpick then a hotplate.
Of course for a very large board, or if you want to make many copies, then using a stencil would save lots of time.
<ed> If you are going to solder by hand, get some flux and some solder wick </ed>

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
Solder paste is a pain to use for just a few parts, but leans towards essential for even small production runs. Using a syringe for paste once took me a week for my thumb to heal after assembling a medium complexity board: it's tough to squeeze that stuff out manually!

But without a reflow oven I'd still keep away from paste and use my spool.