IR proximity sensor

varuntejavarma

Joined Apr 16, 2014
Hello,

I am a beginner who started working with circuits and microcontrollers recently. I am doing a project on IR proximity sensor.

I have started with a basic proximity sensor circuit available in internet. But i couldn't achieve long range with that sensor. So, I came to know that i can improve the range and efficiency of the Ir sensor if a modulate it to a particular frequency.

My Hurdles:

How to modulate the Ir led to 56Khz using a PIC18f4550 mcu (program and explanation)

how should i connect a bandpass filter in the reciever circuit(with appropriate res and cap values so as to allow only 56khz signals), amplifier to amplify the signal. {explanation with circuit diagram would be of great help}

Please dont mind to explain me in detail as i am new to this field. so, It takes some time for me to understand the working of the circuit or program.

Any kind of help would be appreciated

Regards,
Varun

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
You can use a 555 timer astable circuit to drive the LED

What range are you aiming for?

38kHz is a typical modulating frequency. You can buy sensors that are ready to receive at 38kHz.

varuntejavarma

Joined Apr 16, 2014
@MR.chips I should use a microxontroller in my circuit anyway. so, thought of utilizing it even for creating pulses instead of using a timer..
I dont know.. just my thought.. which one do you think is better??

As there are so many Ir sources pulsed at 38khz around us. I dont want to trigger the circuit from other source. so, thought of using 56khz

I am aiming for a range of 1.5 meter. Is it possible?

A detailed explanation would be very much appreciated. you can also mail me at : iamtony1991@gmail.com

Last edited:

varuntejavarma

Joined Apr 16, 2014