IR capturing with sampling

typicalStranger

Joined Aug 25, 2013
hello people
I'm new to embedded, so please be patient with me. I want to capture a typical remote controllers IR signal. I'm aware of the different protocols and their decoding process. My question is this, can I NOT decode the signal and just record it using the timer and just playback the stream using the same sampling frequency? Theoretically with regards to Nyquist sampling theory if my timer frequency for sampling is double the max frequency of the desired signal, I can rebuild it. IS THIS correct or am I missing something in the big picture? I am using an AVR ATM32 and sampling with a 25 0khz timer in CTC mode.
Any practical or theoretical help will be appreciated.

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Why do you want to capture and replay the IR signal?

If you wish to decode the signal you need to know how the data is encoded.

If all you want to do is relay the data stream then you should sample the data at least 16 times the bit rate.

typicalStranger

Joined Aug 25, 2013
Hey MrChips
Thanks for the speedy reply.
As for why am I trying to record the signal, I want to control my TV with a simple Micro.
Currently I'm sampling a 38kHz signal, with a sampling frequency of 250 kHz. That's more than 6 times the carrier frequency, shouldn't that be enough for rebuilding the signal?
Anyhow, I will do as you suggested and increase the sampling freq. As for transmission, will sending the recorded stream with the same sampling timer do the job?

Shagas

Joined May 13, 2013
I'm guessing you want to build something like one of those "universal remotes " when you put your remote to the device and record the transmission and assign it to a certain button.

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Well you're going about it the wrong way.
There is no need to record the IR data stream. What you need is a two stage approach.
Firstly, you need to decode the signals from the remote controller for all the required functions.