IR Audio Receiver

kpraytor

Joined Oct 8, 2009
Hello everyone!

I am trying to make a simple go/ no go tester to determine if a remote control is outputting an IR signal. There is no need to clean up the signal or do anything else with it; I just need to know if the remote control is putting out any kind of IR.

I have attached the first design I had. This appeared to function correctly but the signal was not strong enough to make a very audible note, aka you had to hold the speaker up to your ear to here the noise being produced.

Unfortunately, I crossed some wires while testing it and fried the only speaker I had. Now, I am forced to go with a Piezo transducer to output an audio signal. It says on the packaging that it requires a driver circuit (?). I am new to the whole electronics thing and would like some advice concerning how to approach this driver circuit.

Thanks for all your help and I look forward to the responses!

Attachments

ELECTRONERD

Joined May 26, 2009
Hello everyone!

I am trying to make a simple go/ no go tester to determine if a remote control is outputting an IR signal. There is no need to clean up the signal or do anything else with it; I just need to know if the remote control is putting out any kind of IR.

I have attached the first design I had. This appeared to function correctly but the signal was not strong enough to make a very audible note, aka you had to hold the speaker up to your ear to here the noise being produced.

Unfortunately, I crossed some wires while testing it and fried the only speaker I had. Now, I am forced to go with a Piezo transducer to output an audio signal. It says on the packaging that it requires a driver circuit (?). I am new to the whole electronics thing and would like some advice concerning how to approach this driver circuit.

Thanks for all your help and I look forward to the responses!
kpraytor,