inverting op amp question

MrWoo

Joined Jun 18, 2007
Hi.

I have a question about how to choose the correct op amp. I am just learning and tinkering, so bear with.

My current project has the need to drive a 12v fan at, 12volts. However, I have a signal that is PWM @ 25kHz at -.3v. I am thinking to drive the 12v fan with a transistor.

With this in mind, I have been thinking of an inverting op amp circuit. Simulation shows this to be working. However, now to build real world material, I am in question as to which op amp to use.

Currently I believe in simulation I am using an LM1458 with 2 resistors to keep the output @ 12v. Seems like a pretty simple circuit. I tried an LM324 but I don't believe the gain is enough as I was only able to achieve 10.6v @ output.

What would the considerations be for an op amp for this where the max input is 12v and the frequency is pretty low @ 25khz?

Thank you for any help,
MrWoo

bloguetronica

Joined Apr 27, 2007
... I tried an LM324 but I don't believe the gain is enough as I was only able to achieve 10.6v @ output.
The problem with the LM324 is not gain. The LM324 outpuc swings from 0V to Vcc - 1.5V. Since Vcc is 12V, you know the rest.
If you don't need your output to be analog, you can use a comparator such as LM339 or LM393 (they are essencially the same, one is quad and other is dual).

MrWoo

Joined Jun 18, 2007
Hmm. While I don't implicitly understand all things electronic, well, I don't implicity understand all things electronic. But the more I mess with it the more I learn.

I have attached the very simple design. I am just beginning to understand the many varied uses of an op amp, and for that matter how to actually understand what the datasheets are trying so hard to tell me.

For now I am trying to understand some basics like the current application.