Interfacing Visual Studio with PIC

Dritech

Joined Sep 21, 2011
Hi all,

This is my first time that I am going to interface Visual Studio with a PIC 18F4550 (or any similar PIC) microcontroller. Can someone please tell me the best method to use to interfacing? and does anyone know of any good beginners tutorial please?

Any help would be appreciated.

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
Hi all,

This is my first time that I am going to interface Visual Studio with a PIC 18F4550 (or any similar PIC) microcontroller. Can someone please tell me the best method to use to interfacing? and does anyone know of any good beginners tutorial please?

Any help would be appreciated.
If Visual Studio means the Microsoft IDE, your task is going to be nearly impossible. Microsoft has no intention of developing a compiler for the PIC processor line -- IMHO.

tshuck

Joined Oct 18, 2012
Are you meaning to say that you'd like to interface a PIC to an application produced with Visual Studio, or are you trying to program a PIC from Visual Studio?

The first isn't too hard, depending on the tools you decide to use.

The second is a bit more difficult. You'd probably have to setup some(a lot of) work arounds to get it to work...

Dritech

Joined Sep 21, 2011
Are you meaning to say that you'd like to interface a PIC to an application produced with Visual Studio, or are you trying to program a PIC from Visual Studio?
Hi, sorry for not being so clear. I want to interface the PIC with a VS application. What is the best way for interfacing please? and do you know of any tutorials for beginners? Thanks in advance.

BobTPH

Joined Jun 5, 2013
Your PC app and the PIC will have to communicate with each other. How do you intend to do this? Hint: the most likely ways would be serial RS232 or USB.

Bob

tshuck

Joined Oct 18, 2012