Infrared Tx & Rx circuit problem

caseybee

Joined Aug 12, 2010
I have little electronics knowledge and trying to build from examples. I have a pair of side-looking Tx & Rx devices (from Maplin parts CH10 & CH11) and am trying to use them in the attached circuit. I get no output on the LED. I presume resister values need adjusting. Any suggestions what to change and what to measure at different parts of the circuit.

Attachments

By no output on the LED I assume you are talking about the indicator LED (the green one in the diagram).

I'm not familiar at all with the part numbers you are giving. Google doesn't seem to be either.

If that phototransistor has automatic gain control it's probably going to be turned off all the time because it's constantly seeing that signal from the IR transmitter LED. In my limited IR experience, you need to modulate (turn on and off) the signal at a frequency that fits the IR receiver or else it thinks its just all "noisy" ambient light. Despite this, when the phototransistor isn't conducting I would imagine that the voltage at the inverting input would be higher and as such the output would go low, turning on the indicator LED.

I'd also make sure that your comparator has the ability to source and SINK current. If it can't sink current through its output pin, it won't matter what's happening on the inputs based on how you've got the indicator LED set up.

Take the inverting input of the comparator and connect it to your positive rail and see if the indicator LED comes on. If it does, then you know your comparator is in fact able to sink current and the problem lies in getting that phototransistor the turn on so the voltage on the non-inverting input will go higher. If it doesn't, make sure everything is connected right (LED anode oriented in correct direction, etc) and then check the datasheet of your comparator.

hgmjr

Joined Jan 28, 2005
A couple of quick things to try.