Infrared Transmitter and Receiver

amit_m

Joined Mar 30, 2013
I am a software engineer, don't know much about circuits. I need some outputs based on a circuit to be used as input in my project but don't know how to design it. Need Help.
Specifications :
two fixed IR receiver and a moving transmitter (range 1ft x 1ft)
all are connected with clock
transmitter will send a time stamp and receivers will receive it get the receiving time.
I need set of three time stamps in a memory which i further need to use in my project.

Is it possible to design the same on a simulator and get the sample data

dezweb52

Joined Oct 12, 2011
Hi. Are you building the transmiter and receiver? How a you controlling them?

What I would do is build a simply transmitter and receiver to send and receive in serial. Then code your progrm around that with a serial stringfor 1 and so forth. Adding on start bits and stop bits and parity checking is encouraged.

amit_m

Joined Mar 30, 2013
More Precisely my specifications are-

The circuit consist of -

A moving transmitter which transmit the data (i.e time stamp say t1)
Two fixed receiver connected with quartz clock (receive the timestamp send by transmitter and read their receiving times say t2 and t3)

what i need as data is sets of (t1,t2,t3) at microsecond speed
data to be stored in memory which will be connected to laptop for further use

@dezweb52 for now i need the data to be used in async mode (first store in a memory that to be used further in my project)

dezweb52

Joined Oct 12, 2011
Ok,
I believe that you might want to use something like an arduino which is easy to program (I'm a software engineer and found building something like I describe below wasy to implement). The spec below is what I would build to store and transmit data between two points. It doesnt use infrared though, but it might be easy to do with modifiication. This uses a cheap RF solution like this:

http://apexlogic.net/code-bank/arduino/cheap-rf-solution-for-arduino/