Inductor, ferrite bead wire coil for a "joule thief"

Garoad

Joined Apr 24, 2012
Other than the amount of inductance, what is the difference between an inductor component like this.
...and a wire coil around a ferrite bead or magnetic torroid? (Something like what this guy has on this page.)

For some background (why I ask) - I'm starting out learning basic electronics (my day job is software developer) and my first long term goal is to create a string of battery powered multi-color LED christmas lights which fade in and out gradually. In the process of researching relevant topics, I came across this concept of a "joule thief" which allows an LED to run off of a nearly "dead" battery. Given that I'd obviously like to maximize battery life, assuming this concept can be scaled up to many more than 1-2 LEDs, it "sounds like a good idea" (at this time :p ).

I haven't actually started doing any actual work on THIS project yet (I realize the importance of starting small and learning the fundamentals first) but in parallel (no pun intended) I'm doing some research to provide myself some direction and a goal to work towards.

Still not sure about the feasibility of the overall project ("battery powered multi color fading-blinking 30-50 LED joule thief"... whew), but any side comments or suggestions are welcome too.

acmefixer

Joined Aug 4, 2011
Other than the amount of inductance, what is the difference between an inductor component like this.
...and a wire coil around a ferrite bead or magnetic torroid? (Something like what this guy has on this page.)