Induction Triac operation

Magicfingers

Joined Jul 9, 2006
I need some help in the design of a triac circut that is triggered by an induction coil. The idea is that I wind a coil and pass a conductor to a large power tool thru it. When the tool is energized the induction created in the coil triggers the triac and other tools are energized after a time delay has elapsed. like a vacum system etc. I already have the timer section built so no worries there. I would like to be able to adjust the sensitivity of the system for brake over (POT in the system to determine to at what induction level the triac conducts) I will probably take the output to a small relay. I am not sure what to specify as far as what triac to use, what to specify as far as brakeover voltage, max power, etc. I am a beginner so extended explanations would be really helpful. :confused:
Thanks
Eric

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
I'm having a great deal of difficulty visualizing what you are talking about. Is this about using the induction coil to enable power to the other tools or is it about sensing the turn on of the first tool to enable power to the other tools? Why would you want to do this?

Magicfingers

Joined Jul 9, 2006