Inductance calculator

someonesdad

Joined Jul 7, 2009
I've written an Open Office (3.1.0) spreadsheet that is aimed at hobbyists who want to calculate the low frequency inductance of various common configurations of wire. You can get the spreadsheet and an explanatory document here. Since the file will likely evolve over time, I haven't uploaded it to AAC so that I only have to maintain it in one place.

Remember, I'm an electrical hobbyist, so go easy on the EE bashing in case I've messed up technically. :p If you do find errors or places where things could be improved, please send me email and I'll fix the tools.

Warning: messing with inductance calculations can be hazardous to your free time. You'll soon be knee-deep in elliptic functions, Kelvin functions, power series, etc. and saying to yourself, "Oh, just one more function..." I finally caught myself and realized all I wanted was something that would give me a 10% or so estimate of the inductance, as I'm not designing inductance standards. Thus, a spreadsheet with simple formulas is an entirely adequate tool.

someonesdad

Joined Jul 7, 2009
I had a little time to play with the spreadsheet today and found a few problems. I've also added some new cases. The version on google code will be dated 4 Dec 2010.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
If you have Microsoft Office installed, you can download updates that allow reading/writing of those file formats.
[eta]
I take it back; I can't read it using Excel 2003 and the converter.

Last edited:

someonesdad

Joined Jul 7, 2009
Since I don't use MS Office, writing it in Open Office was my only choice. I perfectly understand not wanting to download a huge amount of stuff just to use one program.