Individual Control of 6 RGB LED's

Pawel19

Joined Sep 1, 2012
DISCLAIMER: I have multiple questions spanning varied topics from microcontroller selection and circuit design to programming a user interface. Feel free to answer any of my questions or give advice on any part without answering everything. Thank you in advance for any help, it is very well appreciated!

I am starting a project and although I've taken electricity classes in college, I have very little practical knowledge as far as the project I have in mind. I will need to control 6 RGB LED's individually with a microcontroller. They will be operated by a rechargeable Lithium Ion battery most likely (3.3V). I need USB interface between the computer and the microcontroller. Finally, I will need to implement a user interface allowing simple color input scheme based on RGB component colors on three single axis (one red, one green, on blue) as opposed to a "color map" on multiple axis. Not sure if I'm using the correct terminology, but this is what I'm referring to, on the right as opposed to what's on the left:

http://www.flashandmath.com/intermediate/rgbs/

I will also want very simple control of (overall) brightness for the combination of three colors on a single slider of the same fashion.

I am looking for suggestions or resources which will help me in the following areas:

1) Picking a microcontroller. I've basically listed all the features I currently require. I've looked at Arduino and Teensy++ a bit and I just received a Stamp Basic microcontroller. I am open to any suggestions, but require USB as stated and definitely want to keep the price under ~$40. Ease of use and documentation are paramount as I am pretty much starting from scratch.