In need of a simple circuit.

Mutad0r

Joined Apr 6, 2010
I'm a noob at this...

All I need, is to power 4 objects from a same source, if they all needed the same amount of current, I'd probably just put them in series, and leave it at that, but almost all of the 4 objects are different. I have tried this for about a month, but I can't seem to understand the ohms law ( among other things) ... I would appreciate it if someone was to provide me with a circuit for this incredibly simple thing. Further more, I would learn something from it.

The objects I have:
Laser: 4,5v 150 mA
two motors: 1,5v 250 mA (Each)
smaller motor: 1v 50 mA

I have all sorts of adapters available, so I just use whatever power source you thing fits best. The objective is to have all of those 4 objects working without smoke coming from any of them (within the month, I have managed to burn out a laser =[ )

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
Do not put things like this in series. Make 3 regulators for the various voltages (or two from lower voltages) and put them in parallel.

Mutad0r

Joined Apr 6, 2010
Progress.. But not enough for MY brain. First time I hear of these reg-uh-lators.. (I'm not a native English speaker.. AND I'm rather new to "this" )... I'll try google, but I doubt it will instantly make sense to me..

thatoneguy

Joined Feb 19, 2009
You'll want to limit the current to the laser with a resistor, treat it as an LED (laser is probably an LED based type, so it's the same).

Use separate power regulation for each output, I'd strongly suggest AGAINST using any "voltage divider" regulators, as the voltage changes with the load, in addition to wasting a good deal of power.

Trying to get the 1V regulated will be difficult. The 1.5V is easy enough with a single battery.

Actually, all of the supplies are simple with batteries.

Laser - 4AAs in series + current limiting resistor.
1.5V Motors - AA battery each
1V Motor - AA Battery + Silicon diode in series.

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010