Implementing PID control using a microcontroller

Mitchy190

Joined Apr 23, 2012
Hey all! :D

I am starting a new project and would like to interface a 'temperature sensor' to a 'micro' which will then control a heat source, such as a heat mat.

The user will be able to set the temp via buttons or maybe a pot but the main interface, to the user, will be an LCD.

I would eventually like to be able to set different set temperatures automatically depending on the time of the day, for example the set temp will be lower at night, I would like this all to be done via buttons and using the LCD.

I have some experience in C, java and vhdl but I have never programmed a micro, and I don't know where to start, I also do not know how to implement a PID algorithm in code.

I have studied the mathematical algorithm, but don't have a clue how to implement it, and the ones I have seen in code do not make much sense to me.

> any suggestions on the micro to use?
> " " " temp sensor to use
>How do I implement the PID algorithm?
>And any ideas on the automatic set time?

Any help will be much appreciated!

PS - I am actually using this system to control the temperature of a snake tank in which the temp should be around 29c.

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
The basics of tuning a PID loop in a temp controller is to start to cycle on off heating periods as the temp approaches the set point.
And this is often by experimentation.
You will also need to implement a real time clock, there are quite a few already made to interface to the PIC based around the PCF8583 or you can implement your own.
Max.

joeyd999

Joined Jun 6, 2011
Doesn't your local Home Depot or ? sell an exact unit with all those requirements? Made by Honeywell? ;)
Max.
The Home Depot thermostats are typically "bang-bang" (hysteretic) controllers, not PID. I did build a PID controller that I mentioned in this thread:

http://forum.allaboutcircuits.com/showthread.php?t=64095