impedance measurement

kaushikgreat

Joined May 22, 2008
Hello
I am a newbie in here and have not much info regarding the electrical stuff. I presently am planning to do some EIS measurements and i wish to find the impedance of the cell that i built. Need to obtain the nyquist plots. ( the plot of Im(Z) Vs Re(Z) ). I do not have access to equipments like analyzers etc. Want to do it from the basics using multimeters, RLC meter and some calculations...
is there a way i could go about my project?

KL7AJ

Joined Nov 4, 2008
Hello
I am a newbie in here and have not much info regarding the electrical stuff. I presently am planning to do some EIS measurements and i wish to find the impedance of the cell that i built. Need to obtain the nyquist plots. ( the plot of Im(Z) Vs Re(Z) ). I do not have access to equipments like analyzers etc. Want to do it from the basics using multimeters, RLC meter and some calculations...
is there a way i could go about my project?

There's always a way! People were doing this long before anything like network analyzers were available.

What frequency range are you lookinig at? A signal generator and an R.F. bridge can probably do the trick for you.

eric

kaushikgreat

Joined May 22, 2008
well, i am looking at broad frequency range, from 1Hz to 100kHz.
I do have a LCR meter, AC signal generator, few multi meters, resistance box stuff like that.
And what about the RF bridge ;). no clue there..

KL7AJ

Joined Nov 4, 2008
well, i am looking at broad frequency range, from 1Hz to 100kHz.
I do have a LCR meter, AC signal generator, few multi meters, resistance box stuff like that.
And what about the RF bridge ;). no clue there..
An RF bridge, (often known as just an R-X bridge) will allow you to determine the impedance of just about any unknown circuit at one frequency.

However, you're using pretty low frequencies, so you could probably build a bridge to do what you want pretty simply.

eric

kaushikgreat

Joined May 22, 2008