igniter?

braeden

Joined Feb 6, 2008
hi im a noob just getting into electronics as a hobby and decided to make my first project and igniter.

heres the plans i drew up:

sorry bought the bad drawing. still trying to find a program to let me draw up good plans on a mac.

i need to know if:

1. i should put a resister by the led's.
2. school confused me with the dman which wya current flows. so which way should i be putting the resistors etc.
3. i can put up to probably about 4 batteries which are 1.2v and 3A each. is that enough
4. will nichrome work with that low of a voltage? or should i use a small coiled spring.

thanx for everyones help.

thingmaker3

Joined May 16, 2005
1. Absolutely put a resistor in series with each LED. This will limit the current flowing through the LED, and prevent the LED from being damaged. In order to know what resistor to use, we'll need to know the current limit of the LEDs. Do you have that number available to you?

2. Electrons flow from - to +. "Current" has two definitions. See here: http://www.allaboutcircuits.com/vol_1/chpt_1/7.html

3. Batteries in series add voltage. Batteries in parallel add current.

4. How thick is your nichrome wire and how long is it? Back when I was an avid model rocketeer, we used 12V sources for our igniters. That was back before hard drives, though.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Hi Braeden!

I'm a "rocketman" too ;)

Yes, you will need resistors for the LEDs.

Resistors don't care which way current flows through them. LEDs will only light if the current is passed through them in the correct direction.

6V @ 3A should be reasonably sufficient to light off small-gauge Nichrome wire.
Wrapping thin-gauge Nichrome wire in a small coil will concentrate the heat at one point. 12V will make ignition more reliable.

Have you ever seen the movie, "October Sky"? If not, you should.

I'll help you with this.

braeden

Joined Feb 6, 2008