i have a problem in using USART for my RFID project

barde

Joined May 2, 2009
Hi everyone,
I am a beginner doing a project on RFID (radio frequency Identification). I am using a device, Parallax RFID Reader Module, to read the RFID transponder tags.

Each transponder tag contains a unique identifier (one of 240, or 1,099,511,627,776, possible combinations) that is read by the RFID Reader Module and transmitted to the host via a simple serial interface. For my project the unique code will be transmitted by USART.

When a valid RFID transponder tag is placed within range of the activated reader, the unique ID will be transmitted as a 12-byte ASCII string via the TTL-level SOUT (Serial Output) pin in the following format:

MSB
Start Byte Unique ID Unique ID Unique ID Unique ID Unique ID Unique ID Unique ID Unique ID Unique ID (0x0A) Digit 1 Digit 2 Digit 3 Digit 4 Digit 5 Digit 6 Digit 7 Digit 8 Digit 9

LSB
Unique ID Stop Byte
Digit 10 (0x0D)

The start byte and stop byte are used to easily identify that a correct string has been received from the reader (they correspond to a line feed and carriage return characters, respectively). The middle ten bytes are the actual tag's unique ID.

All communication is 8 data bits, no parity, 1 stop bit, non-inverted, least significant bit first (8N1). The baud rate is configured for 2400bps, a standard communications speed supported by most any microprocessor or PC, and cannot be changed. The Parallax RFID Reader Module initiates all communication. The Parallax RFID Reader Module can connect directly to any TTL-compatible. The RFID reader will be interfaced to a microcontroller (PIC16F77A) and the unique code it detects from a transponder tag will be transmitted to the microcontroller by USART. The microcontroller then compares this unique code to a previously stored code. Then, it shows the name and id assigned to the tag on an LCD.