I am an engineer but... - I designed an IOT module but nobody cares

MA321

Joined Feb 2, 2018
Hi

I have made an IOT module, but nobody cares, I don't know what to do, I have worked for 2 years on it. Software, Hardware, Firmware, Server, Website, PCB, and now nothing...

Why people like me are supposed to be ...

:(

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
Hi

I have made an IOT module, but nobody cares, I don't know what to do, I have worked for 2 years on it. Software, Hardware, Firmware, Server, Website, PCB, and now nothing...

This happens often when people create solutions for problems that do not exist. Knowing your customer and the market is essential for successful product development.

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
Hi

Somebody might care, but nobody knows about it. Put your customer hat on and think about why your creation should get their attention. How is it different than existing products? Does it have unique features, a better price, look better?

Just building yourself a wheel doesn’t mean anyone else will want it. You need to tell the world why your wheel is better. If it’s not better, move on.

MA321

Joined Feb 2, 2018
This happens often when people create solutions for problems that do not exist. Knowing your customer and the market is essential for successful product development.
Well I thought IOT has a good market and so many customer...

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
Well my biggest problem is fining a salesman...
Before you consider a salesman, do your marketing research as @bertus mentioned. Know your market, their needs, and where your product fits. If there’s really potential for it, only then would I invest in sales, manufacturing, promotions and so on.

MA321

Joined Feb 2, 2018
Somebody might care, but nobody knows about it. Put your customer hat on and think about why your creation should get their attention. How is it different than existing products? Does it have unique features, a better price, look better?