I am an analogue engineer.

tindel

Joined Sep 16, 2012
I've been dealing with a difficult problem for weeks at work. I've been thinking about how to implement a sensing circuit (sorry, I can't be too specific). I had developed a solution a couple months ago, but it wasn't very robust. A good solution to the problem just wasn't coming to me. After sitting down a little bit today and looking at the problem - the solution came to me - in 5 minutes. It is simple, removed 2 of the primary variables that made the problem difficult, and focuses on the one variable that the sensor needs to focus on. It's a cheap solution, and works on a single voltage rail. Finally after a little detailed analysis, I showed that it works better than I originally intended - a nice surprise.

But the solution is still bitter sweet. The bitter: They still want to have a software override for the sensor. Indicating to me that they don't trust the circuit or my ability to design (at least at this point in the program). The sweet: They will literally spend millions on the software override at least until they get comfortable with the circuit. In the end - they will be forced to use the circuit, and it will quite literally save the program.

I guess the reason I am so excited about this design is that it was the first time in my professional career that I solved a difficult electronics problem with a simple circuit. I've spent many many hours studying Jim Williams' work and the work of the early early Tektronix and HP oscilloscope engineers' and I've marvel at it's complex simplicity. This is the first time I've really felt like I'm following in their footsteps, and I hope someone looks at my work someday and thinks the same.