I am a hardware board design engineer, and I want to move to Analog IC design. Will a part-time PhD help me in this?

hoyyoth

Joined Mar 21, 2020
Dear Team,

This is not related to any circuit design.I need your opinion.My question is given below.

I am a hardware board design engineer, and I want to move to Analog IC design. Will a part-time PhD help me in this?

May I know whether industry consider part time PhD holders.

Regards
H

hoyyoth

Joined Mar 21, 2020
What's a "part-time PhD"?
A part-time PhD would enable you to acquire your doctorate degree while pursuing a full-time job. It is of a longer duration spanning around 6 to 8 years while a regular doctoral degree might be somewhere between 3 to 5 years.

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
You need to be a bit careful in deciding whether or not to get a PhD in industry. Many employers looking to higher engineers will not consider those that hold a PhD, or at least consider them less favorably. There is a pretty wide perception that a person with a PhD is going to be expecting a much higher salary and is stove piped very deep in one narrow area of focus, so unless they happen to be looking for an expert in an area tightly aligned with your dissertation topic, they may not consider your application seriously. This is certainly not to say that every employer feels that way, but it is pretty commonplace.

As far as part-time versus full-time, that's a nonissue. Once you have a degree, hardly anyone is going to care how long it took you to get it.