How to use analog multiplexer CD4051

CrackJack

Joined Aug 7, 2009
Hello All,
I am planning to use an analog multiplexer CD4051 (8:1 mux). I have never used an analog multiplexer before, but i have heard that this mux is highly Electro-statically active and requires a Transient Voltage Suppressor before application of any input signals to it. Is it true?
Can anyone please suggest me any circuit or ideas as how to use these mux?

Waiting eagerly for reply,

CrackJack

Joined Aug 7, 2009
I forgot to mention. My input signal is a noise pattern... typically a radio signal coming out from an aluminum foil. I would like to have a dual supply analog multiplexer, and the voltage range is +-12V. Can anyone please suggest me any valid circuit idea?

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
That is "electrostatically sensitive", meaning it can be destroyed by static charges. I've never amnaged to blow up a CMOS IC, so I don't know about needing major precautions.

Do you have a data sheet? That gives you a lot of information, especially about maximum voltages.

CrackJack

Joined Aug 7, 2009
Hi,
Please check the attached file. I have connected the inputs A0-A7 to inputs and select line is connected to +5V depending on the various conditions in the truth table... like (s0 = 0, s1 = 1, s2= 1)...

Do I need to connect any resistors at the input or o/p?

Attachments

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
All you need to do is select which input that goes to the output. The nature of the signal sources and the circuit receiving the signals is significant as to the need for resistances.

steveb

Joined Jul 3, 2008
Hi,
Please check the attached file. I have connected the inputs A0-A7 to inputs and select line is connected to +5V depending on the various conditions in the truth table... like (s0 = 0, s1 = 1, s2= 1)...

Do I need to connect any resistors at the input or o/p?